Get your bike and go read a book somewhere nice [video]

I recently bought ‘Road to Valor: A True Story of WWII Italy, the Nazis, and the Cyclist Who Inspired a Nation‘, a great book about the legendary Italian cyclist Gino Bartali who made the greatest come back in Tour De France history, and also  saved the lives of hundreds of Jews during the war. So far it’s been a great read and I highly recommend it.

This Saturday I wanted to take my bike and the book and go somewhere nice to read it under a shade of a tree. I happen to have a Legnano road bike, the same brand Gino Bartali used to ride, so I chose it as the bike for the ride. It was a cloudy day, at the beginning at least, with a blazing hot sun that kept reminding me that the mighty Greek Summer has just arrived

The ride was almost 40km to a close by small mountain, on a nice clean spot that para gliders use to take off. It was very peaceful with a great view of my city and a small mountain breeze that kept me cool for the whole duration of the reading session. It was so nice that I am thinking to keep doing it every other weekend or so.

I made a little video of the whole experience:

Comment freely

