2 Bungee cords make a huge difference!

Sometimes I jokingly say that a bicycle without a rack is not a bicycle. With that joke I’m trying to say that a bike without a rack is very limited as a mean of transportation. I’ve came to that conclusion after I discover the magic of bike touring and the ability of the bike to take a load many times its own weight. That’s an extremely useful ability that even cars can’t match. But this post is about racks and commuting. Actually, its is about the bike rack and 2 bungee cords. And what this combination on your bike can do. You can try to have 2 bungee cords on your rack ad find out by yourself how easier can make your life.

You can see some pics from actual cases where I was on the road and I had to transport something. On so many occasions those 2 bungee cords proved to be absolutely essential for the average commuter. To carry a vintage chair you found in a garbage bin (your girlfriend will love it) to a cart of Delicious cherries you found in a closing shop for an unbeatable price.

On the way to the beach I couldn't resist, so I bought this juicy watermelon!
On the way to the beach I couldn’t resist, so I bought this juicy watermelon!
On the way home I found those cherries sold for 6 euros. Thats a bargain!
On the way home I found those cherries sold for 6 euros. Thats a bargain!
Tip of the day: As you pass by garbage bin remember to always look for treasures. Like the plant and 20 nice flowerpot holders
Tip of the day: As you pass by garbage bin remember to always look for treasures. Like the plant and 20 nice flowerpot holders
6 Comments Add yours

  1. Michael S says:

    Wow – that is EXACTLY what I keep telling people. My original rack lost its main clamp or how you’ll call it already 2 years after I bought the bike. You know, the spring loaded thing, meant to fix things on the rack. But honestly, I don’t miss it at all, since I replaced it immediately with bungee cords. First I used to ride with only one cord. Sufficient for 90% of uses. But after a while you start worrying about the last 10%. And that is, where the second cord comes in. Maybe someone did not get the idea behind the first image with the water melon: You can transport any item, even circular or round items using 2 bungee cords gripping into each other like an X. Never leave without these!

    One word though: Be sure to tighten the bungee cords again, once you lifted the load off your bike. Otherwise chances are, that they dangle down and get destroyed…

    1. Pandoheas says:

      Hello Michael! I am glad there is someone else that appreciates those two bungee cords as much as me! About the X gripping: I’ve managed to carry some SERIOUS load with this method, incredible!

      Agree with the last thought as well. I’ve forgotten many times my bungee cords loose and I almost killed my self!

  2. Mike says:

    Yes, bugee cords are handy! I use them to store my coat if it is too hot etc.

    I had once my bugee cord end which end did shoot to my head and nearly missed my eye. That made me think and since then I use tie down straps with cam fasteners for heavier things.

    1. Bicyclosis says:

      Tie downs are great, but they are lacking elasticity which is incredible useful feature when you strap something on your rack. I have a friend who uses them when he tours, they seem pretty useful

      1. Mike says:

        Yes, elasticity is key but you can have tie downs with an elastic part in it, see http://bikeshed.johnhoogstrate.nl/bicycle/luggage/rok_straps/.

        I did buy them but I think you could also make them yourself, even better.

      2. Bicyclosis says:

        These actually look very useful!!! Thanks for the info!

Comment freely

