A ride to celebrate the new addition to the family

A week ago a friend of a friend of mine sold me his bike for a very very low price. He rarely uses it and he wanted the money fast. So, I bought it, changed some things to fit me (it’s XL) and went for a ride on the mountain to test it. To my surprise, in a stop an hour after I began the ride, I noticed a dent (looks like a pinch) on the seat tube. It seems the clamp of the repair stand was too tight. Anyway, I think it’s going to be fine, at least for a while.

The bike is a hybrid, which is a type of bike that I never really wanted, because it’s a jack of all trades, master of none. But, I eventually I liked it. It’s not agile, but it’s very fast and it can handle dirt well. It looks like it’s ideal for travelling so I’m planning to load it with my DIY panniers and do some mountain tours with it.

Anyway, what struck me was how this new bike got almost destroyed with a repair stand clamp, and my cro mo donkey survived 30 years of constant rolling (did numerous MTB races with it as well – without a rigid fork mind you) with superficial wounds only (just paint damages). It is amazing, isnt it?

This is the bike. We just reached the first refuge
This is the bike. We just reached the first refuge (1450m).
The extravagance of nature!
The extravagance of nature!
This place usually has very good view but for some reason the atmosphere was very foggy
This place usually has very good view but for some reason the atmosphere was very foggy
A romantic soul put this weird chair here for passengers to sit and enjoy the view
A romantic soul put this weird chair here for passengers to sit and enjoy the view
The return
The return
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Aris says:

    Hey Nick,
    Careful with that dent, aluminum is very sneaky on corrosion, especially 7075 which is the one the Integrator has. It’s best if you cover the dent with something corrosion protective, the way paint was protecting it, such as nail polish!

    1. Pandoheas says:

      It’s a small bent and the paint around it seems fine. Anyhow, I will be keeping an eye on it!

Comment freely

