Listening to music while cycling?

I’ve never ever in my life listened to music while riding. It’s my inviolable rule of cycling that I’ve never broke. Although music, audiobooks and podcasts are a huge part of my life, I don’t feel that my brain can absorb the information whilst my main focus is on the road. And actually the opposite, I can’t focus on the road if my whole brain’s trying to process information. You can’t do both, that’s a scientific fact (check the video). If you want to be 100% careful of stupid drivers, killing doors, absent-minded pedestrians, potholes and etc,you can’t be entertained at the same time, unfortunately. I wish I could, but I think I can’t. It’s very strange that you see some very experienced old riders bypassing this rule by being at ease riding on crazy roads while listening to audiobooks. I can’t get that! If you live in Denmark, sure, you can ride a unicycle while you read Heidegger’s history of the concept of time, but in other cycle-hostile countries, I think it’s a proper suicide! Am I missing something? Am I too much of a pussy? I don’t know!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Mario says:

    Too much of a pussy, for sure… 😉

    Jokes aside, i feel that listening to some great music often gives me the “pump” I need to push through a climb or to boost when approaching a trafic light just turning yellow.

    Podcasts are good too but more for a commute then a workout because you tend not to focus on your pedaling and your form as much when also absorbing new information.

    However people are as different as android phones are fragmented so there are those of us who can absorb, and need to absorb information constantly and throes who prefer to only concentrate on one particular thing at a time.

  2. Yes, in a training situation I guess is good and more safe because usually, outside the city center, things arent so frantic. Although I believe in the theory that believes that the sound of panting is good for your health, it makes you synched with your body. Or maybe I am a pussy AND crazy! 😛

    Where do you cycle by the way?

  3. Compared to Berlin I cycle in the jungle!

Comment freely

